Emmet Cohen Trio

Emmet Cohen (piano), Russell Hall (bass), and Evan Sherman (drums). 

Emmet Cohen Trio (New York, NY) are the Second Runners-Up of the 2018 DC Jazz Festival’s DCJazzPrix Emerging Band Competition. Committed to the intergenerational transfer of artistic knowledge, history and traditions, the Emmet Cohen Trio features multi-faceted pianist- composer Emmet Cohen, Grammy and Emmy-nominated bassist Russell Hall, a native of Kingston, Jamaica, and drummer Evan Sherman. Between them they have worked with vocalists Kurt Elling and Lea DeLaria, NEA Jazz Masters Jimmy Heath, Ron Carter, James Moody, and Jimmy Cobb, plus the Dizzy Gillespie All-Stars, Billy Hart, Brian Lynch, Cyrus Chestnut, Jon Batiste and Stay Human. The trio is remembered for its range and uplifting dynamism and represents a kaleidoscopic sense of musical narrative.

View all